top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

What's the deal with airline food?

Scotland Day 1


 

Yesterday was my first day in Scotland. My flight took off at 8:45pm and landed at 7:30am in Edinburgh. The flight actually went by pretty quick (even though I only slept for a grand total of about 45 minutes) and the meal I got was surprisingly good.

I landed and was able to get my UK visa, but the woman didn't charge me the nearly 100 pounds I was supposed to be charged for it so that was another pleasant surprise. My first fail in Scotland was when I went to use the "toilet." When I went to wash my hands afterward, I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to use the sink. When I put my hands underneath it, it just blew air so I gathered that it was a hand dryer built into the sink, but I could not figure out where to turn the water on so after standing there looking like an idiot for a few minutes, I gave up and left to spare myself further embarrassment.

My good friend Jenny picked me up from the airport and we headed to our other friend Anita's flat to catch up over breakfast. One of the biggest differences between America and the UK is that they drive on the left side of the road. Getting into Jenny's car, I of course tried to get in on the wrong side even though I promised myself I wouldn't, and sitting in the passenger's seat was quite stressful because I kept thinking we were going to get hit.

After eating and catching up with Anita and Jenny for a bit, the three of us headed to Jenny's to drop my things off and then went to the town of St. Andrews for a walk and some tea (that means dinner in the UK). The sunset was gorgeous against the skyline of St. Andrews. We walked down to an old castle and the beach, which was the setting of the famous opening scene in Chariots of Fire. We then went to Nando's which is a popular chicken restaurant chain and it was very good.

Overall it was a very exciting and successful first day. I can't wait to see what else Scotland has to offer!



42 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page