top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

A Semester to Remember

I've been back in The States now for almost two weeks, and there isn't an hour that goes by where I don't think about my time abroad. This experience has truly changed my life, and I will be forever grateful for this opportunity.

If you had told me just two years ago that I would study abroad and traveled to nine different countries and be dating someone from France, I wouldn't have believed you. The month leading up to my departure, I was extremely hesitant about going. I had spoken to many people about my doubts, and I was getting very close to changing my mind and not going. Thankfully though, I decided to stick with it and hope for the best. My hopes were far exceeded.

Firstly, getting to experience different cultures is something I feel everyone should aim to do at some point in their lives. It really opens up your eyes to just how big this world is, and the incredible amount of different lifestyles that exist. From the craic in Northern Ireland, to the relaxing lifestyle in Denmark, to the Easter traditions in Greece. All of the different places I had the pleasure of visiting had something new to offer. Culture shock is real, but once you overcome it, you can really appreciate the beauty of the place you are in.

One thing I've learned during my time abroad is that you can truly travel anywhere. I was always afraid to travel places where I didn't know the native language, hence why I chose to study in an English-speaking country. For study purposes, it made sense for me to choose a country where English was the native language considering I am not proficient in any other language, but just for traveling, the language should not be a barrier. To my surprise, I found that many people in such countries also speak English, and even where they didn't, you figure it out. There are so many incredible places to see and speaking a different language shouldn't prevent you from going because when it comes down to it, it doesn't matter what language you speak when you are looking at something amazing.

Additionally, you will meet people who will change your life. I never thought I would have friends in France, Germany, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Austria, Finland, and Denmark, as well as states all around the US. It amazed me how quickly all of the international students got along. We immediately all got so close and now I can't imagine my life without them. Also, seeing how many languages all of them can speak, at least partially, was very inspiring to me. That, mixed with the fact that my boyfriend lives in France has motivated me to begin learning French (wish me luck). So you never know where meeting new people can lead you. For me, I believe I found lifelong friends and travel buddies, and I met my incredible boyfriend. The bond I share with these people is so special because of what we've experienced with one another, and I'll cherish that forever.

Despite how hesitant I was before leaving, I can not even put into words how amazing my time abroad was and how thankful I am that I ended up following through with it. I am a firm believer in everything happening for a reason, and I really believe that I was meant to study abroad and meet the amazing people that I did, which set me on the path of wanting to move to Europe as soon as possible.

Coming back home was honestly very difficult. The irony was, it was harder for me to leave Northern Ireland than it was to leave the US. It's crazy to me that now, Belfast feels more like home than Connecticut does. The entire day I traveled home I couldn't stop crying thinking about all of the people and memories I was leaving behind. Luckily, I know this isn't the end and I will see them again, it's just sad thinking that such a wonderful chapter has come to a close, and that we will never all be in that same scenario all together again. But it's not the end by any means.

If I've learned one thing while studying abroad, it would be that anything is possible. Sitting here typing this post, I am tearing up thinking about how much I love these people and this place, people I never thought I'd meet and a place I never thought I'd be. Life is crazy, and it's so exciting watching all of the positive, unexpected surprises it has in store unfolding before your eyes. I will always believe everything happens for a reason, and that events that occurred in my life that may have been unpleasant and seemingly senseless at the time, did in fact have a purpose. I can pick out exact events that lead to me studying abroad, and because of that, I wouldn't change a thing. I can't wait to see where else my life takes me.

Thank you for coming on this journey with me, and hopefully I'll have a new adventure to write about soon.



65 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page