top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

Not an Ideal Day in Denmark

Denmark Day 1


 

I woke up feeling not so great on Sunday morning. Timm and I were supposed to go into Copenhagen that day, so I was hoping I could just sleep off whatever it was for a few more hours and be good to go. That was not the case. I ended up having a fever and I stayed in bed until 3pm. I finally got up and knew that I wouldn't be able to make it to Copenhagen that day which was very upsetting.

I was finally feeling good enough to eat some food though, so Timm's mom made some toast (because bread is one of the main things they eat in Denmark) and I tried a bunch of different spreads that they eat. One spread was called Pikant and it was a cream cheese-like spread with onions and peppers and whatnot in it which was quite good. I also tried some kind of liver spread which also surprisingly wasn't bad.

I was starting to feel a bit better after eating, so Timm and I walked to the beach which is only 5 minutes from his house. It was so peaceful and quiet there.

After walking by the beach for a while, he drove me to a lake area near his house where the water was crystal clear. Even though it was much too cold to go swimming, the water looked so inviting. He was telling me that it's a very popular spot in the summer and that there are also many fossils in that area.

Timm then drove me to a nearby area where there were bunkers from WWI. That was very cool to walk around and see. For the area being so old, it was actually in surprisingly good shape.

After grabbing some dinner back at his house, we drove to a very old nearby city called Køge. Many of the buildings had been kept up for hundreds of years. Some of the oldest buildings in the city dated back to the 800's. The oldest dated building I saw though was from 1619. We also walked past a large and very beautiful old church. In the middle of the city there was a town square where different events are put on throughout the year, and the square is surrounded by cute shops and restaurants. It was a very nice place to walk around on a clear, crisp night.


19 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page