top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

Museum Overload

London Day 3


 

As I mentioned in my last post, if you know me well, you know that I do not like museums, but like I said, the museums in London are a must.

We started off our last day by exploring the area around our hostel a bit. We walked over to Kensington Palace which, to be completely honest, doesn't look much like a palace to me, but the area around it is very beautiful. There is also a majestic statue of Queen Victoria in front of the palace which overlooks a peaceful pond and large park (Hyde Park). We walked through the park a bit and then our eyes were caught by a large, detailed golden statue. As we approached, we saw that it was a memorial for Prince Albert, Queen Victoria's husband. I think this monument was the most impressive one I saw during my time in London. It was breathtaking and grand.

Sarah and I then walked towards a street that had a couple free museums on it. The first one we walked through was the V&A Museum (Victoria and Albert). I expected the museum to be all about Victoria and Albert, but it was so much more than that and there were so many intriguing items on display.

After spending a while in that museum, we crossed the street and went to the Science Museum. This museum was not quite as impressive to me as the previous ones had been, but there was a very interesting exhibit about volcanoes and earthquakes, so Sarah and I spent most of our time in that section. I also started feeling very ill while in this museum so we sat down for a while so that I could rest. Thankfully I was able to continue after a little while.

We stopped for lunch next at a restaurant that Sarah's friend had recommended called Bella Italia. I expected it to be just any old Italian chain restaurant, and while yes it may have been an Italian chain restaurant, it was so good. I got spaghetti and meatballs (mostly because I hadn't had meatballs since I was in America and I was really craving them) but it was honestly probably one of the best bowls of spaghetti and meatballs I'd had in my life. We also shared a warm chocolate chip cookie and gelato for dessert and it reminded me of a similar dessert that my mom and I would get at an Italian restaurant back home called Bertucci's.

Our last museum of the day was the Natural History Museum which was very interesting. I'd say it was my second favorite behind the British Museum. My favorite exhibit was probably the one about dinosaurs. They had many dinosaur fossils and despite all of the dinosaur exhibits I've seen in my life, I actually learned a few new things about these creatures.

By the end of this museum I was absolutely exhausted and felt feverish so I decided to head back to the hostel while Sarah went on to explore Hyde Park a bit more. Although I was sick most of the time I was in London, I'm so glad I was able to experience the city and see so many beautiful landmarks. I hope to go back to London someday because I feel like there is still so much more to see there.


6 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page