top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

Just Our Luck

Denmark Day 2


 

Waking up on the second day, it was apparent that Timm had began experiencing the bad luck that I had been thus far on the trip because that morning he also woke up with a fever.

Luckily, he was still willing to go out and do things with me since it was my last day there and I hadn't yet seen any of the things I really wanted to see because I had been too sick the day before.

Since we were supposed to go to Copenhagen the first day but couldn't, we had to try and jam pack everything into the second and last day. Our first stop was Møns Klint which was about an hour and 20 minute drive from Timm's house. Hiking was probably not the best idea for either of us since we were both sick, but I really wanted to see the cliffs so we decided to push through. It was well worth it. We started with the views from the top of the cliff which were absolutely stunning, and then we descended Denmark's longest staircase to the bottom of the cliffs where the view was just as breathtaking.

One thing that was on our side the entire trip was the weather. We expected it to be pretty chilly at the cliffs, but it was actually very comfortable and there was hardly any wind. We spent about an hour at the cliffs and then headed back to Timm's house before catching the train to Copenhagen.

I'm glad I had Timm there with me through the public transportation because I would've been very overwhelmed and confused if I was by myself, especially because the instructions and whatnot on the check in/out posts were in Danish.

By this point we were racing against the sunset so that I could see Nyhavn in the daylight because it isn't quite the same at night. Luckily we arrived in the city just in time and walked about 10 minutes to Nyhavn where the well-known colorful buildings line the canal. It was so beautiful and I'm glad I got to see it just as the sun was setting.

We then walked a bit further to where the royal family lives. That was a very cool, and it's interesting to me that countries still have kings and queens because I'm so used to just having a president. Kings and queens sound so royal and historical.

One of the things that was on my list to see was The Little Mermaid, but we weren't sure I was going to see it because it looked like a far walk when we checked the map before we left. When we finished walking around Amalienborg Palace, I asked Timm to look and see how far of a walk it was to The Mermaid, and he said it was about 15 minutes. Even though Timm had been telling me since I arrived that I would be disappointed by the statue, I couldn't be a 15 minute walk from it and not go see it. So we walked through the poorly lit park to the statue, looked at it for about a minute, took a couple pictures, and then went on our way. I'm glad I can say I saw it though, especially because it's so well-known around the world.

It was quite a long walk back into the main part of Copenhagen, so we hopped back on the train which took us to Copenhagen Central Station, and one of the things I was most excited to see, Tivoli, was right across the street.

Of course though, Timm and I's bad luck on this trip had not yet finished because when we approached Tivoli, we quickly discovered that it was closed. I couldn't believe we had really gotten that unlucky. And to make it even worse, the last day that it was open for the season was the day before, which is when we were originally supposed to go to Copenhagen. So had I not gotten sick, I would've seen Tivoli. I honestly can't even describe how disappointed I was, but sadly there was nothing we could do about it at that point.

After that bit of bad luck, we walked a few minutes to a nearby hot dog vendor by the City Hall and I had a proper Danish hotdog which consisted of chopped onion, fried onion, creamy remoulade, and pickles on top. It was pretty good. Definitely different from NYC street hot dogs, but I liked it.

And with that, that concluded my short time in Copenhagen. We walked around the perimeter of Tivoli, looking in through the fences so I could see as much of it as possible, but it definitely was not the same and I was still very upset. I'm hoping though to go back to Copenhagen before I return to America so that I can see the things I didn't get to, as well as just spend more time in Copenhagen because in the short time that I was there, I really loved it.

Even though I ended up being very unlucky during this trip (I guess Liv's bad luck even followed me to Denmark), I'm still really glad I went and I'm so thankful to Timm and his mom and stepdad for being so welcoming and helping me to see as much of their beautiful country in the short time that I had.


13 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page