top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

Hogwarts is real

Scotland Day 2 & 3


 

On my second day in Scotland Jenny and I slept in which was much needed after I'd barely slept in 2 days. Later in the day we headed to Glasgow which is another city in Scotland. Jenny's dad lives in Glasgow and offered to take us out for dinner. We went to an Indian street food place called Tuk Tuk. It was my first time having Indian food so I was a bit warry going into it.

Plastic straws have been banned in the UK, so when I ordered a Coke I was given an old fashioned glass bottle (which was kind of cool) and a plastic straw. The menu suggested ordering about three plates per person because the portions were small. It was basically like an Indian tapas place. We ordered so many different plates and sides and appetizers and it was so delicious.

After dinner we headed back to Jenny's dad's flat and just hung out and watched a movie. When the movie was over we watched a Scottish comedy called Still Game. Jenny and her dad had to turn the subtitles on for me because their accents in the show were so thick and they were using a lot of Scottish terms and phrases that I didn't recognize. The show was actually really funny though. It reminded me a bit of Seinfeld, like a Scottish Seinfeld.

Today I tried black pudding at breakfast which is a very popular food here, but I have to say I didn't care for it much. I prefer lorne sausage which is another popular breakfast food. After breakfast, Jenny and I drove back into the center of Glasgow and went to the University of Glasgow. That's the university that J.K. Rowling based Harry Potter off of, and after seeing the campus, I can see where the inspiration for Hogwarts came from, because the university practically is Hogwarts. It was absolutely beautiful. There was also a cool museum in the university that we explored for a bit.

After leaving the university, we drove down the road to the Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum. There were some cool exhibits in there including Salvador Dali's original Christ St John of the Cross. They were also in the process of setting up a new dinosaur exhibit of Dippy the diplodocus which Jenny was very excited about because she LOVES dinosaurs.

I can't get over how many cool places there are to explore in Scotland. Every building is so beautiful and I can't wait to see what else I'm going to see over the next few days.


21 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page