top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

Goodbye Scotland, Hello Ireland

Yesterday was my last day in Scotland. Jenny and I stayed over at Anita's last night in Edinburgh since her flat is much closer to the airport than Jenny's. It was nice to spend one last night with both of them, and have a cute little movie night/slumber party. I also tried my first chippy last night which is essentially a french fry sandwich. Just a roll with french fries in it. It was honestly really good so I can see why it's a Scottish favorite.

Today I flew to Belfast. The flight was very short, under 50 minutes, and my good friend Catherine and her mom picked me up from the airport. Catherine studied abroad at WCSU last year and is originally from Northern Ireland, so that's how I met her and we became good friends. It's funny being in her neck of the woods for a change.

After they picked me up, they took me to dinner nearby. Afterward, we stopped at a store so I could pick up a couple basic things and then we headed to my campus (Jordanstown at Ulster University).

Unfortunately it was night time and rainy when I arrived so I couldn't see much, but the campus looks much bigger than it did on Google Maps. The village I'm living in also seems very nice and there's a cute little convenience store in it. I went to the residential services office to get my key for my room and then we headed to my room to bring in my things. When we got to my flat we realized that even though the woman had said the key was in the envelope she gave me, it was not. Luckily, one of my roommates had already moved in so she was able to let us in so we could bring everything inside before going back to the office to get my key.

After we finished bringing in my belongings, I headed back to the office to get my key, only to receive the unsatisfying news that my room had not yet been cleaned and was not ready for me to move into yet. They put me in an emergency room temporarily, so that's where I'm staying tonight. I was really looking forward to finally getting to unpack my things and no longer having to live out of suitcases, but they said that my room would hopefully be ready later tomorrow. It's pretty quiet and lonely in the temporary room they have me in, so I'm really hoping my room will be ready tomorrow.

Orientation starts tomorrow so hopefully that will lift my mood a bit and I'll finally get to meet some new people and start feeling more comfortable with studying at a new university thousands of miles from home. Wish me luck!


29 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page