top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

Getting to Know Ireland


 

Ireland is incredible. It's now my 4th day here but it honestly feels like I've been here for weeks. We have done so much and I've met so many new people in the last few days.

We've taken the train to Belfast a couple of times now, and have gotten to see the city both during the day and at night. We've met some locals, sung some karaoke, and today we took a trip to the north coast to see some famous sites.

I soon learned that I was severely underdressed for this trip. I looked at the forecast which said 50 degrees and cloudy with no rain, so I assumed that a long sleeve shirt, jeans, booties, and a warm shawl would suffice. Boy was I wrong. It was extremely windy and was misting the entire day. The wind went right through my shawl and it definitely did not feel like 50 degrees.

The first stop was at an overlook onto the north shore. It was absolutely beautiful, but a little hard to enjoy because of how cold I was and how unpleasant of a day it was.

The second stop on the trip was Giant's Causeway. As we got off the bus, the bus driver (bless his soul) saw that I looked really cold and gave me his coat to wear. What a guy. I was then able to enjoy the sights a bit more. The Causeway was absolutely stunning, although I didn't realize how much walking/light hiking was involved and probably would've worn different shoes had a I known prior. You could say I was just altogether extremely unprepared for the day. My friends and I plan to go back to the north coast one day when the weather is much better and we'll get some better photos of ourselves then because today was not the ideal day for them. The scenery still looked beautiful in photos, though.

After the Causeway we went to a well-known restaurant called Ramore. I tried chicken kiev for the first time and it was delicious.

The last stop on the trip was the Dark Hedges. It was very cool to see, but we plan to go back to that spot as well because it was starting to get dark and again, was very windy so it wasn't ideal for pictures.

These past few days have been jam-packed, but have been a lot of fun. I'm really enjoying getting to know not only the other girls from America, but also the people from other countries. Especially the guys from France, they're all pretty funny.





37 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page