top of page
  • Writer's picturebridurante98

A Proper Scottish Night Out

Scotland Day 5

 

I found myself feeling a bit homesick at one of the most unexpected times today. Jenny, Clara and I went shopping for drink for tonight and then stopped at McDonald's for a quick bite. It was there, in the McDonald's that I began feeling a bit of culture shock. I first went up to the register to order my food, unsure of what I wanted because I didn't know if their menu was different, but it was my turn so I panicked and decided to just order some chicken nuggets and hope for the best. The guy taking my order asked what kind of sauce I wanted and I replied honey mustard. The guy looked at me as if I had two heads before informing me that they don't sell honey mustard, apparently it's not a thing in the UK. At that point I just felt silly and then as I was fumbling with my money I felt as if everyone was staring at me and judging me. Who knew that I'd end up feeling most out of place in a place where I should feel most at home.

After that experience, I'm starting to miss home a bit.

We went out to a night club in Dundee later that night. I was a little nervous about it because Jenny kept saying how different nights out in Scotland were compared to in America. However, the night didn't end up feeling much different than a night out back home. The club we went to was called the Underground. They played all the same music as what would've been played in the club in America. Jenny did say afterward that the Underground was likely the most similar night out to the U.S. The night was a lot of fun though, and when we left the club we walked to a busy place nearby to grab some chips and cheese. We got back to Jenny's around 3:30am, which in Europe is very normal for a night out. I felt a lot better and not as homesick at the end of the night.


25 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
Inside%20the%20valise%20logo_edited.png
bottom of page